Skip to content

Review of Udi’s Whole Grain Bread

December 16, 2010

So this isn’t a recipe, but I figure if I’m actually going to get into a habit of posting things here I need to do more than just my breakthrough recipes, seeing as how I use a lot of borrowed recipes at this point.

I had Udi’s Gluten Free Whole Grain bread this morning as toast for breakfast. When I bought the loaf, my first comment was on the size of it. I thought my loaves of bread were unusually small, but it appears that Udi’s bread is no bigger so I guess my loaves aren’t so far off after all. When I opened the bag and took out the slices, I noticed the large holes in the bread where air had gotten into the loaf from it expanding too quickly. While that is annoying when trying to use the bread as toast, it is an overall minor thing, though it made me rethink using the bread for the stuffing I’m making this weekend. Since there isn’t much of the loaf as it is, large air pockets make me hesitate paying $12 for 2 loaves of the bread to make stuffing, especially when I can make my own for much cheaper.

The taste of the bread is good – it mimics normal bread, not quite like the whole wheat or multigrain I was used to, but not as sweet as the white bread (Udi’s has a white sandwich bread I assume is sweeter.) Overall, while the bread looks a bit nicer than my loaves, and tastes more like gluten-filled bread, it’s not worth the money when I can make bread myself. However, if you don’t have the time to make your own bread, Udi’s is certainly one of the better gluten free bread loaves on the market. It has held up well in my refrigerator without becoming dry and crumbly, unlike many other brands. (I can’t have baked goods sit out in my apartment because it is too humid and they will mold within a few days.)

Tasting the Udi’s bread has encouraged me to consider tweaking my bread mix a bit, as the flavor of the Udi’s was better than what I currently make. I will likely try adding white flour to my recipe and maybe playing with the ratios of flour to starches to get a fluffier bread. But that won’t be until after I finish my previously-made bread mix packets. As a general rule I will mix several patches of the dry ingredients of my bread at once and put them in sandwich bags and store in the refrigerator so when I want to make a loaf of bread all I have to do is pull out the bag about a day in advance to let it warm (otherwise it doesn’t rise well), add in the wet ingredients and yeast, let it rise, then bake, taking the process down to about 20 min of prep rather than the normal 40+ minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

